Our team

Our team is made up of all the people who described, restored and started the windmills of the Arkhangelsk region in its two windmill centers: first, Malye Karely with the largest collection of windmills in Russia (eight windmills) and second, the “the windmill river” Mezen with the most compact complex of historical windmills in Russia (five mills). Mainly our team is built around three wonderful people:

 

alexanderAlexander Nikonovich Davydov
Head of the Laboratory of Ecology of Culture in the Institute of Ecological Problems of the North, Arkhangelsk. Candidate of Historical Sciences, Senior Researcher, Head of the Research Department of the Arkhangelsk Museum of Wooden Architecture Malye Karely at the time of its formation, expert in ethnography of the Russian North, history and ethnography of the city of Arkhangelsk, author of about 300 scientific publications.

 

 

pietPiet Schiereck
Member of the International Molinological Society, Montfoort, the Netherlands. Miller-enthusiast who has several mills of his own and who actively restores others.

 

 

 

 

 

 

paulPaul Groen
Member of the International Molinological Society, Montfoort, the Netherlands. Head and Chief Engineer of Erfgoed Advies Groen B.V., engaged in the construction, reconstruction and functional restoration of the mills around the world. Took part in the restoration of the Kinderdijk complex (a museum of 19 mills in the Netherlands, which is on UNESCO list).

 

 

 

In July 2016 Alexander Nikonovich Davydov passed away in the city of Arkhangelsk. He will always be remembered.

Creating a windmill community in Russia was one of his unfinished projects, the first stage of which was supposed to be the site you are reading now. The second stage was to be a conference in Malye Karely in 2017, where windmill museums and rural settlements with preserved windmills would have participated. Alas, this is unlikely to happen.

Наша команда

Наша команда — это все люди, в разное время описывающие, реставрировавшие и запускавшие мельницы Архангельской области в двух её мельничных центрах: Малых Карелах с наибольшим собранием в России из восьми мельниц и Мельничной реки Мезень с наиболее компактным комплексом исторических мельниц в России из пяти мельниц. А строится наша команда вокруг трёх замечательных людей:

 

alexanderАлександр Никонович Давыдов
Заведующий лабораторией экологии культуры института экологических проблем севера, Архангельск. Кандидат исторических наук, старший научный сотрудник, заведующий научно—исследовательским отделом Архангельского музея деревянного зодчества Малые Карелы в период становления, специалист в области этнографии Русского Севера, истории и этнографии города Архангельска, автор около 300 научных публикаций.

 

 

pietПит Шиерик (Piet Schiereck)
Член международной молинологической ассоциации, г. Montfoort, Нидерланды. Мельник-энтузиаст, имеющий несколько своих мельниц и активно восстанавливающий остальные.

 

 

 

 

 

 

paulПол Грюн (Paul Groen)
Член международной молинологической ассоциации, г. Montfoort, Нидерланды. Руководитель и главный инженер фирмы Erfgoed Advies Groen B.V., занимающейся строительством, реставрацией и функциональным восстановлением мельниц по всему миру. Принимал участие в реставрации комплекса Kinderdijk (музей из 19 мельниц в Нидерландах, занесённый в список ЮНЕСКО).

 

 

 

В июле 2016-го года Александр Никонович Давыдов ушёл из жизни в городе Архангельске. Светлая и долгая память.

Одним из его неоконченных проектов было создание мельничного сообщества России, первым этапом которого должен был стать сайт, который вы сейчас читаете. Вторым этапом должна была стать мельничная конференция музеев и сельских поселений с сохранившимися мельницами в Малых Карелах в 2017-м году. Увы, этому уже не суждено сбыться.